Employer Payroll Tax
Employee Payroll Taxes
Employee Income Tax
Minimum wage is $7.25 per hour.
Employees should be paid at the time specified in contract, the standard period within the trade, or every 15 days.
Regular working hours are 8 hours per day and 40 hours per week.
Overtime is work exceeding the weekly 40 hours. Compensation for overtime should 100%-150% the employer’s standard rate of pay. Some employees may be exempt from receiving overtime.
Pennsylvania labor law does not require an employer to grant paid vacation.
There are 11 official holidays.
Pennsylvania labor law does not require an employer to grant paid sick leave.
The Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) provides certain employees with up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave per year or certain family and medical reasons (maternity leave, serious illnesses or if the employee needs to care for a spouse or child). Employers are required to maintain the employees’ health benefits during their leave and keep their job open.
Employees are eligible for leave if they have worked for their employer at least 12 months, at least 1,250 hours over the past 12 months, and work at a location where the company employs 50 or more employees within 75 miles. Whether an employee has worked the minimum 1,250 hours of service is determined according to the Fair Labor Standards Act principles for determining compensable hours or work.
Can fall under the Family Leave Act if they are covered under an eligible employer.
Can fall under the Family Leave Act.
Pennsylvania is an At-Will State, meaning termination procedures are only required if it is stated in the employee’s collective bargaining agreement. It does however does follow the federal Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act.
Notice period is not required.
Pennsylvania labor law does not require an employer to grant severance payment.
Pennsylvania is an “at-will” state and a probationary period is not required.
The state sales tax is 6%. with exceptions n Allegheny at 7%, and Philadelphia at 8%.