1.45% - Medicare
Up To 4.62% - State
Minimum wage is $9.75 per hour in the Portland Metro Area. In non-urban counties $9.50 per hour.
In the US, both the employer and employee contribute 6.20% for social security.
Employer: contributes a percentage of the total payroll per month for the employees pension funds. The contribution percentage is not specified.
Employee: contributes a percentage of the total payroll per month for the employees pension funds. The contribution percentage is not specified.
Both the employer and employee contribute 1.45% to Medicare.
There are 9 official holidays, however private employers are not required to provide either time off or overtime pay on these days.
Oregon follows “employment at will” doctrine which means both the employee and employer are allowed to terminate the employment at any given time without a reason. Therefore at the time of termination, the employer must pay all the necessary wages up to the day of termination.
There is no official notice period, but general practice is 2 weeks.
Oregon law does not either require or prohibit severance payments. It depends on the employer’s agreement with the employee.
There is no sales tax.