1.45% - Medicare Rate
Up To 3.3% - State Taxes
Minimum wage is $7.25 per hour.
Employer:contributes 37.9% of the total payroll per month for the employees pension funds.
Employee:contributes 7.5% of the monthly salary to pension fund.
Both the employer and employee contribute 1.45% to Medicare.
There are 11 official holidays, however private employers are not required to provide either time off or overtime pay on these days.
Louisiana follows “employment at will” doctrine which means both the employee and employer are allowed to terminate the employment at any given time without a reason. Therefore at the time of termination, the employer must pay all the necessary wages up to the day of termination.
There is no official notice period, but general practice is 2 weeks.
Louisiana law does not either require or prohibit severance payments. It depends on the employer’s agreement with the employee.
The state sales tax is 5%. However, in some local municipalities, total tax rate can be up to 12%