1.45% - Medicare Rate
Up To 4.62% - State Taxes
Minimum wage is $7.25 per hour.
Employer:contributes a percentage of the total payroll per month for the employees pension funds. The contribution percentage is not specified.
Employee:contributes a percentage of the total payroll per month for pension funds. The contribution percentage is not specified.
Employer: Medicare - 1.45%
Employee: Medicare - 1.45%
There are 9 official holidays, however private employers are not required to provide either time off or overtime pay on these days.
Kansas follows “employment at will” doctrine which means both the employee and employer are allowed to terminate the employment at any given time without a reason Therefore at the time of termination, the employer much pay all the necessary wages up to the day of termination.
There is no official notice period, but general practice is 2 weeks.
Kansas law does not either require or prohibit severance payments. It depends on the employer’s agreement with the employee.
The state sales tax is 6.5%, however in some local municipalities, the total tax rate can be up to 10.5%.